wire-rack-1311161_1920.jpg

Cranio Facial Kinetic Science

 

What is craniofacial therapy?

Craniofacial therapy treats disorders, dysfunctions or anomalies in the orofacial sphere. Our face reflects our identity and is a determining factor in our social contacts. Any damage (accident, disability, illness, functional disorder, etc.) takes on proportions that go beyond the simple physical problem and affects the private, family and social sphere
Domains concerned by craniofacial therapy
usages - GB.jpg
According to Dr. h.c. Susanne Codoni
Two main principles govern craniofacial management:
 
Interdisciplinarity and a global approach to the person
 
 
There is a Basque proverb: "You can't treat someone who enjoys being sick".
 
The patient is at the centre of the therapeutic process. Without their involvement and the one of their relatives, the therapist does not obtain any good results. The patient is the actor of their healing, and the therapist acts as a support that guides them.
 
Depending on the problem that needs to be treated, the therapist will be in contact with other professionals such as maxillofacial surgeons, doctors, ORLs, dentists, logopaedics, psychologists, educators, etc. to have a complete vision of the situation and to be effective.
 
Cervical pain can be attributed, for example, to poor permanent head posture. But , it must be first clarified why it is misaligned: is it due to a visual defect or pelvic malformation, knee pain, or a congenital posture error? It is only when the cause has been found that the following question is asked:
 
Where is the primary cause of my problem situated?
 
then
 
How can I fix it ?
 
Once the diagnosis has been established, the therapist and the patient determine together the course of the therapy, its goals, its duration and its costs. They also evaluate the progress of the therapy together on a regular basis.
The therapists practicing craniofacial therapy as described on this site have all followed the course of  the Master Cranio Facial Kinetic Science course at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Basel (Switzerland).

How does this therapy take place?

 

Each person is different.  Therefore, the therapy is not the same for a child who has speaking problems due to a malposition of the tongue in the mouth than for an adult who broke their jaw after a fall, for example.

However, you will almost always find the following elements:

LISTENING - DISCUSSION - OBSERVATION

REFLECTION - DEVELOPMENT OF THE SET GOALS

ANALYSIS - POSTURE - STABILITY - DOCUMENTATION: pictures - films, ...

MUSCULAR STIMULATIONS ( kost® (German) , myofunctional therapy , ...) - EXERCISES TO BE REPEATED AT HOME - POSSIBLE INTERVENTION OF OTHER THERAPISTS (Physiotherapist, osteopath, ophthalmologist, orthodontist, ...)

EVALUATION - RE-EVALUATION

 

How does it work ?

Our body is made of a single piece - all the parts (muscles, organs, bones, nervous and blood systems, etc.) being connected to each other by fascias (see: The mysterious world under the skin)

 

That's why you won't be surprised that the therapist first observes your feet to treat neck pain.

 

The stimuli and impulses given by the therapist and the exercises to be repeated have an impact on the whole body and have an impact on the posture and the bad habits. They allow the neuromuscular system to integrate new functional patterns.

Capture d’écran 2018-09-01 à 18.34.44.pn

Image: ARTE - Fascinating fascias

wire-rack-1311161_1920.jpg

Cranio Facial Kinetic Science

 

Qu'est-ce qu'une thérapie cranio-faciale ?

Une thérapie cranio-faciale soigne les troubles, dysfonctions ou anomalies de la sphère oro-faciale. Notre visage reflète notre identité et est un facteur déterminant dans nos contacts sociaux. Toute atteinte (accident, handicap, maladie, trouble fonctionnel, ...) prend des proportions qui dépassent le simple problème physique et touche à la sphère privée, familiale et sociale.
Domaines concernés par une thérapie cranio-faciale
usages.jpg
Selon Susanne Codoni
Deux grands principes régissent la prise en charge cranio-faciale : 
 
                                           Interdisciplinarité et approche globale de la personne
 
Un proverbe basque dit  : « On ne peut pas soigner quelqu'un qui prend plaisir à être malade ».
 
Le patient est au centre du processus thérapeutique. Sans son implication et celle de son entourage, le thérapeute n'obtient pas de bons résultats. Le patient est acteur de sa guérison, et le thérapeute, un soutien qui le guide.
 
Selon le problème à traiter, le thérapeute sera en lien avec d'autres professionnels, tels que chirurgien maxillo-facial, médecin, ORL, dentiste, logopédiste, psychologue, éducateur, etc. pour avoir une vision globale de la situation et être efficace.
Les douleurs cervicales peuvent, par exemple, être attribuées à une mauvaise posture permanente de la tête. Mais il faut tout d'abord clarifier pourquoi elle est tenue de travers : la cause provient-elle d'un défaut visuel ou d'une malformation pelvienne, d'une douleur au genou ou d'une erreur de posture congénitale ? Ce n'est que lorsque la cause a été trouvée que la question est posée :
 
Où se situe la cause première de mon problème ?
 
puis
 
Comment y remédier ?
Une fois le diagnostic posé, thérapeute et patient déterminent ensemble le déroulement de la thérapie, ses buts, sa durée et son coût. Ils évaluent également régulièrement ensemble les progrès de la thérapie.
Les thérapeutes pratiquant la  thérapie cranio-faciale telle qu'elle est décrite sur ce site ont tous suivis le cursus du Master Cranio Facial Kinetic Science de la faculté de médecine de l'université de Bâle (Suisse).

Comment se déroule une thérapie ?

 

Chaque personne est différente. C'est pourquoi la thérapie n'est pas la même pour un enfant qui a des soucis d'expression dus à une malposition de la langue dans la bouche qu'un adulte qui s'est cassé la mâchoire suite à une chute par exemple.

Cependant, vous rencontrerez presque toujours les éléments suivants :

ÉCOUTE - DISCUSSION - OBSERVATION

RÉFLEXION - ÉLABORATION DES BUTS VISÉS

ANALYSES - POSTURE - STABILITÉ - DOCUMENTATION : photos - films, ...

STIMULATIONS MUSCULAIRES ( k-o-s-t® (allemand) , thérapie myofonctionnelle, ...) - EXERCICES  À RÉPÉTER À LA MAISON - INTERVENTION ÉVENTUELLE D'AUTRES THÉRAPEUTES (Physiothérapeute, ostéopathe, ophtalmologue, orthodontiste, ...)

ÉVALUATION - RÉÉVALUATION

 

Comment ça marche ?

Notre corps est fait d'une seule pièce, toutes les parties (muscles, organes, os, systèmes nerveux et sanguin, etc.) étant reliées entre elles par les fascias  ( voir : Fascinants fascias : les alliés secrets de notre organisme)

C'est pourquoi vous ne serez pas étonné que le thérapeute commence par observer vos pieds pour traiter des douleurs de nuque.

Les stimuli et impulsions données par le thérapeute et les exercices à répéter se répercutent sur l'ensemble du corps et influencent la posture et les mauvaises habitudes.  Ils permettent au système neuromusculaire d'intégrer de nouveaux schémas fonctionnels

Capture d’écran 2018-09-01 à 18.34.44.pn

Image: ARTE - fascinants fascias